Dinner and a Movie #1

Wild Hunt and Pizza
* This is the first of a series of blog postings I’ll be doing.  They are recipes for dinner I make and reactions to movies I watch.  Enjoy and please leave feedback and suggestions! *

wikipedia


For the dough:
1 cup of high gluten flour
1/2 tsp rapid rise yeast
salt
2 tsp sugar
Generous 1/3 cup water, heated to 125 – 135 degrees
Olive Oil
Cornmeal (for kneading)
Canned pizza sauce (or make it using crushed tomatoes, 1 garlic clove, basil, thyme, crushed red pepper and parmesan)
Thinly sliced prosciutto, cut into strips
Mozzarella ball, sliced into thin ovals
Asiago, grated
Baby Arugula
Additional requirements:
Pizza stone or baking sheet (stone is preferable!)
Preheat oven and pizza stone to 425.  Sift 1/2 cup flour, yeast, salt and sugar.  Whisk water and olive oil together and add to flour mixture.  Add remaining flour.
Turn out onto cornmeal covered surface and knead dough until firm.  Roll to a circle or rectangle 8 – 10 inches in diameter.  Bake until light brown (I call it tan), approximately 10 minutes.  Use a clean cloth and press the air out of any large bubbles that form.
Brush with olive oil and top with sauce.  Lay mozzarella ovals, then prosciutto slices.  Top with grated asiago.  Return to oven and bake until cheese melts, approximately 5 minutes.  
Sprinkle arugula on top and serve immediately.  
Wild Hunt:
I’ve been having trouble sleeping recently.  Which isn’t that bizarre, to tell the truth.  I’m very sensitive to loud noises and I live in the city; a place full of screaming football fans and dump trucks.  On some nights, it gets to the point where I can’t UNHEAR the noises, like they’re echoing around in my mind.  These nights I put on a box fan in the background and try to get lost in that white noise.  Most of the time it works.  Sometimes it doesn’t.  
On bad nights, like the one I had last night, I think about other options.  Buying earplugs or sleeping pills.  Just in case it gets bad again.  But I never will.  Because I’m afraid of escalation.  I’m afraid of that day when one pill won’t be enough to get me to sleep to I take another.  And another.  
I’m not the type of person who’d give into that impulse.  I’m really not.  But when we are put in situations that make us feel trapped, situations that strip away our control, we do things that surprise us.  
That’s what I find so fascinating about this movie.  It’s an honest, brutal, nasty and quirky look at the steamroller effect of escalation.  And it’s terrifying because it happens so slowly that anyone could have stopped it at any time.  But, by the time you realize you could have, it’s already too late.  And there’s nothing left to do but ride it out, and hope that you wake up the next morning.  
Leave a Reply

